Club Championships

Historically there had been five events held annually to determine the Champion Player or Doubles Team of the Club since it first opened in 1999.

Open categories have been contested in Men’s Singles, Ladies Singles, Men’s Doubles, Ladies Doubles and Mixed Doubles most years.

For various reasons the Club Championships weren’t played during 2018. But rather than see the great 20 year history end that had been built up on the Honours Boards displayed in the Club, we decided to play them at the beginning of 2020. Unfortunately, Covid-19 struck half way through the tournament and things were postponed further.

Now that the club has reopened, the matches for the 2018 Club Championships have now been played.

The 2018 Men’s Singles was won by Pawel Safuryn, Ladies Singles by Sandra Maxwell, Men’s Doubles by Dave Wood & Steve Gillott, Ladies Singles by Jacqui Benfield & Mary Cockburn and Mixed Doubles by Steve Gillott & Sue Grindle.

Most of the categories from the 2019 Club Championships weren’t played during that year either, with the only exception being the Men’s Singles, which was played as a round robin event.

We are now seeking entries for the remaining categories from 2019 Club Championships that haven’t been played yet. These are the Ladies Singles, Men’s Doubles, Ladies Doubles and Mixed Doubles. The only proviso to this is you must have been a member of DL Derby at some point during the 2019 calendar year to enter.

The Format

All tournaments will be run as a knockout* with a consolation draw for those players who lose their first round. This should mean that players get to play in a minimum of at least two matches.

The aim of this is to make it more inclusive for players of varying ability. This way you should get at least one match against someone of a similar standard after testing yourself against the better players or pairings within the club.

* If there are three players/teams entered in a particular category the tournament will be run as a Round Robin event rather than as a Knockout.

The Rules

So that the matches can be played in a reasonable amount of time, we’re going to use the ‘Best of 2 Tiebreak Sets and a Match Tiebreak (to 10 Points with 2 clear)’ scoring system.

So that’s normal sets with the first to 6 games and a normal tiebreak to 7 points (with 2 clear) if it’s 6 all for the first 2 sets. Then, if the match is tied at 1 set all, it will be a Match tiebreak for the deciding 3rd set. However, this time it’s the first to 10 points with 2 clear.

Arranging the Matches

You will receive a provisional match date and time that you’re fixture should be played by. However, this can be re-arranged between the two players/teams to suit you all. Please remember that it is important that matches are re-arranged as soon as possible, so that it doesn’t effect getting the later rounds played.

Entry Deadline and Start Dates

Unfortunately due to Derby going into Tier 2 and with government rules not allowing matches to be played against opponents outside your own household or support bubble the 2019 Club Championships have been put on hold again.

Entry is only £5 per player per event.